We have an existing issue where if you remove all groups for a user from edit user popup, groups won’t be removed though a success message is shown in UI.
So the way ahead is to not remove all the groups at once from the user edit popup.
Have at least 1 group remaining and delete all others and save.
Final group left has to be removed manually from Groups page.
This is logged as a Bug with no ETA for now.